Hörster-Philipps, Ulrike: Joseph Wirth 1879-1956. Eine politische Biographie
Kommission für Zeitgeschichte, Research Center, Bonn

Kommission für Zeitgeschichte

German | Site Map |

Hörster-Philipps, Ulrike: Joseph Wirth 1879-1956.
Eine politische Biographie, Paderborn [u. a.] 1998

(Veröffentlichungen der Kommission für Zeitgeschichte, Reihe B: Forschungen, Bd. 82)

Ulrike Hörster-Philipps: Joseph Wirth 1879–1956. Eine politische Biographie.

Ulrike Hörster-Philipps: Joseph Wirth 1879–1956.
Eine politische Biographie.

Joseph Wirth is among the most controversial politicians of the Weimar Republic and post-World War II Germany. The Freiburg native – who served as Center Party parliamentarian, government minister, and Reich Chancellor – and the politics he pursued continue to provide ammunition for controversy at various stations of his life. In 1922, for example, the Rapallo Treaty with Soviet Russia was concluded under Wirth’s chancellorship. Legends about Wirth’s political position in the Nazi period, his supposed attempts to ingratiate himself with Hitler’s regime, or his purported activities for various intelligence services live on even in the most recent publications. In the 1950s, Wirth stood for the option of a militarily neutral, reunified Germany – in contrast to his party associate Konrad Adenauer. Wirth’s contacts to East Berlin and Moscow in this period quickly saddled him with what turned out to be the long-lasting reputation of a marionette whose strings were pulled by the communists.

Ulrike Hörster-Phillips’ political biography is based largely on the extensive collections of Wirth’s personal papers at the German Federal Archive in Koblenz and in Moscow, which were inaccessible until 1990, on records from the former East German Communist Party archive and other archival materials.

In light of these newly available sources, the author sketches a differentiated political profile of Wirth, fills in »blanks« in his biography, and dispels legends. Joseph Wirth’s life emerges as an exciting reflection of his times, marked by contrasts and contradictions.

To order our publications, please, contact your local bookshop or the publishing house Schöningh in Paderborn.


page back 

KfZG Home 

page up 

E-Mail KfZG 

page forward

Hörster-Philipps, Ulrike: Joseph Wirth 1879-1956. Eine politische Biographie
Kommission für Zeitgeschichte, Forschungsstelle Bonn

Kommission für Zeitgeschichte

 | English | Site Map |

Hörster-Philipps, Ulrike: Joseph Wirth 1879-1956.
Eine politische Biographie, Paderborn [u. a.] 1998

(Veröffentlichungen der Kommission für Zeitgeschichte, Reihe B: Forschungen, Bd. 82)

Ulrike Hörster-Philipps: Joseph Wirth 1879–1956. Eine politische Biographie.

Ulrike Hörster-Philipps: Joseph Wirth 1879–1956.
Eine politische Biographie.

Dr. Joseph Wirth zählt zu den umstrittensten Politikern der Weimarer Republik und der deutschen Nachkriegsgeschichte. Der aus Freiburg stammende Zentrumsabgeordnete, Minister und Reichskanzler und seine Politik bieten an verschiedenen Stationen seines Lebens bis heute Anlaß zu kontroversen Diskussionen: 1922 wurde beispielsweise unter Wirths Kanzlerschaft der Rapallo-Vertrag mit Sowjetrußland abgeschlossen. Bis in jüngste Veröffentlichungen hinein ranken sich Legenden über Wirths politischen Standort während der NS-Zeit, seine angeblichen Anbiederungsversuche an das Hitlerregime, seine angebliche Tätigkeit für diverse Geheimdienste. In den frühen 50er Jahren vertrat Wirth im Gegensatz zu Adenauer die Option eines militärisch neutralen, wiedervereinigten Deutschlands. Wirths Kontakte zu Ostberlin und Moskau in dieser Zeit haben ihm rasch und dauerhaft nachwirkend den Ruf einer von den Kommunisten geführten Marionette eingebracht.

Die Untersuchung basiert wesentlich auf den umfangreichen Beständen des Nachlasses Wirths im Bundesarchiv Koblenz und in Moskau, die bis 1990 unzugänglich waren, auf Unterlagen aus dem ehemaligen SED-Archiv und weiteren Archivmaterialien.

Im Licht dieser neuen Quellen kann jetzt ein differenziertes politisches Profil Wirths gezeichnet, können »weiße Flecken« in seiner Biographie erhellt, Legenden widerlegt werden. Wirths Leben zeigt sich als ein spannendes, von Gegensätzen und Widersprüchen geprägtes Spiegelbild der Zeitgeschichte.

Bestellungen von Veröffentlichungen richten Sie bitte direkt an Ihren Buchhändler bzw. den Verlag  Schöningh in Paderborn.


vorhergehende Seite 

KfZG Startseite 

eine Ebene höher 

E-Mail KfZG 

folgende Seite